Weigh-in and a quick story to catch you up

My first official GvW weigh-in:

Starting weight: 359.7

To take that in to comparison, I’m 6ft 1in tall, have a broad shouldered build, and have been “heavy” but not super fat since middle school, I suppose (7th grade). I’ve never participated in sports, but have been begged to join the football team, if that helps give an idea of my body type. The lowest I’ve weighed since reaching adulthood was in my early 20’s when I first got married at 225lbs. This was after 4 months of heavily working out to lose weight and get down from 260. To do that, I walked for an hour each day, did a series of jumping jacks, sit-ups and pushups. I did this every day, 5-6 times a week. I seriously reduced my calorie intake to probably just 1000 a day, though I didn’t keep track of it. Instead of eating full meals, I would only snack on a sandwich or something, here and there.

I kept this weight off for about 6 or 7 years, then, well into our first several years of being married, I began to gain weight. My job required absolutely no physical activity at all, and I just couldn’t seem to find the time to exercise anymore. 15 years later, with negative remarks from coworkers – even my supervisor – I’ve ramped up to 359.7 pounds, which is not my heaviest. At one point, just this passed February, I had hit 374 pounds and had a very embarrassing experience¬†at an IHOP. I couldn’t ‘even fit behind one of their bench seats. At all. People literally laughed at me as we ate, looking at the fat man who couldn’t even sit inside the booth. It was humiliating.

That’s when I started cutting back and eating less, exercising when I could. But my problem is that I don’t have a routine. I’m not busting it 5-6 days a week because … well, I’ve grown lazy. That’s what we’re here to change.

Leave a Reply

